Wulsthaube

Late last night I wanted to work on costumes but all I really had was major pieces (doublet and dresses) and leather work. So instead I was looking around at different costumes out there and decided to make a legit cap for faire. See, I have next to no hair:

20160711_044510

I’m actually in need of a trim too

Which I want to cover for faire. Wulsthaube to the rescue!!!

20160711_181625.jpg

The whole thing is made out of random fabric from my stash, muslin for the main fabric and linen from my smock for the fabric roll, which I stuffed with polyfill since I have a giant bag of it.

Given that I started it in the middle of the night and did it all by hand, I’m really happy with how it turned out and it will work perfectly for faire. And its historically accurate! I followed the tutorial on Katafalk for it and it went together pretty quick and easy.

Next up is the steuchlein to wear over it, which is going to be another stash project.

Leave a Reply

