Neve #1

My character Neve (pronounced NEEV) doesn’t have much to show yet, but I’m getting all the details nailed down. I’m going to hopefully be buying fabric for her in a few days and then the fun can really start. Her design has been decided for a while but until recently I hadn’t decided what colors I wanted.

20160504_201117

My plan for the dress is a bit historical and a bit Faire. A smock with pleated cuffs and collar, a sleeveless side laced kirtle with a square neckline, a front laced cotehardie with short sleeves and an underbust bodice with angled straps. If I have time I will make sleeves for the cotehardie but we shall see.

I have a lot of fun accessories planned but the first thing I’m working on is the belt. Originally I was going to just do a leather ring belt but decided to do a tablet woven one instead. I also decided on my dress colors by planning out my belt pattern with my available thread colors.

20160429_132529

The belt will be quite long so I’m going to wrap it around my waist multiple times, one end will have a D-ring and the other will taper off to a point and be beaded. Its nearly half way woven so I’m excited to get it done!

I also have leather to make a pouch purse, and am going to make a multi pocketed hip belt for all my goodies and mug.

I’m looking forward to all the details and fun bits. Just wish it was Friday so I could buy the fabric!

Leave a Reply

